Discover Michigan City on Instagram Michigan City on Linked In Facebook for Michigan City Residents
Discover Michigan City on Facebook
Home  
   
  Welcome!

City Departments - Planning & Redevelopment / Inspection Department
Forms & Fees | Building Code Violations | Feedback

Planning & Redevelopment
Inspection Department
100 East Michigan Boulevard
Michigan City, Indiana 46360

Planning: (219) 873-1419
Inspection: (219) 873-1415
Fax: (219) 873-1580

Hours:
8:00 - 4:30 Monday - Friday


Planning & Redevelopment Staff

Craig Phillips, Director
cphillips@emichigancity.com

Skyler York, Assistant Planner
syork@emichigancity.com

Aaron Borngraber, Associate Planner
aborngraber@emichigancity.com

Sherry Neal
sherryn@emichigancity.com

Judith Pinkston
judithp@emichigancity.com

Debbie Wilson
debbiew@emichigancity.com

Inspection Department Staff

Craig Phillips, Director
cphillips@emichigancity.com

Sheila Boone, Secretary
sboone@emichigancity.com

Sue Downs, Vacant Housing Inspector
sdowns@emichigancity.com

Bradley Bye, HVAC and Plumbing Inspector
bradleyb@emichigancity.com

Russell Hatfield, Code Inspector
russellh@emichigancity.com

Tom Przybylinski, Building Inspector
thomasp@emichigancity.com

Francis Rooney, Electrical Inspector
francisr@emichigancity.com

Michigan City Westside and Wabash


Gateway Park - Under construction now at intersection of Michigan Boulevard and US Highway 12 (Click for larger image)
Gateway Park – Recently completed, now at the intersection of Michigan Boulevard and US Highway 12
(Click for larger image)

421 South Franklin Street South Gateway Plan (PDF - 307MB file)
Parking Master Plan - Uptown Arts District (PDF - 13MB file)
Michigan City North End Hotel Market and Feasibility Study (PDF - 143MB file)
Michigan City/NICTD Rail Realignment Study Final Report (PDF - 6MB)
Tax Increment Financing District – South Side (PDF)
Tax Increment Financing District – North Side (PDF)
Uptown Arts District Façade Improvement Application (PDF)
Downtown Upper Story Residential Program Guidelines (PDF)
Michigan City Downtown Action Agenda (PDF)
For Community Development (CDBG/NSP) information, click here.
Trail Creek Open Space Study – April 2011 (17MB file)
Countywide Land Development Plan
Michigan City Beachway Project Revised Land Use Plan & Redevelopment Controls
Land Development Strategy Areas
Lohan Anderson Trail Creek Plan
Elston Grove Historic District Streetscape Design Guidelines
Andrews University School of Architecture - Urban Design Studio - North End Plan (39MB file)
Michigan City Consolidated Plan
Zoning Map
Urban Enterprise Zone Map
City Map
Michigan City Zoning Ordiance
Michigan City Subdivision Ordiance

Click here for additional documents


Planning Department

The Planning Department is chartered with ensuring an orderly arrangement of overall designs and objectives for new projects within the City. They use various methods for achieving a detailed formulation of a program of action, projecting the realization of achievements in an orderly arrangement for an overall city design or objective.

For more information on the appointed commission supporting this department, click here.

Zoning Department

The Zoning Department arranges the partitions of the city by ordinance into sections reserved for different purposes (i.e., residential zones for residences, commercial zones for businesses, and industrial zones for manufacturing).

For more information on the appointed board that supports this department, click here.

Building inspectors determine the conditions of all types of dwellings (homes, apartments, offices, industrial centers, etc) by way of building inspections, for the purpose of safeguarding the health and safety of the occupants and the general public.

For more information about the boards and commissions that support this department, click on the following links: Planning Commission, Board of Zoning Appeals, Redevelopment Commission, Historic Review Board.


Some of the links on this page may require Adobe Reader to view them. The Adobe Reader is available for download free of charge, by clicking on the logo. Acrobat Reader