Commission on the Social Status of African-American Males

The Commission shall consist of fifteen (15) voting members. Each member shall be appointed by the group or organization whom he/she represents within Michigan City unless otherwise specified herein below. The appointments shall be made as follows:

The mayor shall appoint seven (7) members to a two year term. Those seven appointments shall consist of members from the following groups as follows:

  1. Three appointments from the justice system;
  2. One member nominated by the county Labor coalitions;
  3. One member nominated by a neighborhood group association; and
  4. One member from a workforce development agency, career tech center or higher education institution
  5. One member chosen by the mayor

Eight (8) appointments shall be made by the Common Council of the City of Michigan City on a yearly basis and shall be members of or participants in the following groups and entities:

  1. One (1) from the Human Rights Commission
  2. One (1) from the Minority Health Partners
  3. One (1) from the Swanson Center
  4. One (1) from the Ministerial Associations
  5. One (1) Michigan City Resident Appointed by Common Council
  6. One (1) from the Michigan City Area Schools
  7. One (1) from the NAACP
  8. One (1) member of the Common Council Appointed by the Common Council

Meetings: 12:00 PM on the second Wednesday of the month in the Mayor's Conference Room at City Hall.

The Reverend Bill J. Ashley Memorial Education Scholarship.


Current Members


Mrs. Faye Moore - Eastport Neighborhood Association
term expires: 01-01-2024


Ms. Stasi Benning - Treasurer
term expires: 01-01-2024
Mayor Appointment Justice

Mr. Kenneth Fly
term expires: 01-01-2024
Mayor Appointment


Mr. Walter "Tony" Cox 
term expires: 02-13-2025
Mayor Appointment Justice

term expires: 04-20-2025
Mayor Appointment

Mr. Casey McCormick
term expires: 02-15-2025


term expires: 02-15-2023
Ministerial Assoc.


Mr. Willie Milsap
Vice Chairman
term expires: 02-15-2025
Swanson Center

BBA0EF27-08FC-42FB-8CD2-FEA4CCC84B04Ms. Linda Fay Conley
term expires: 02-13-2025


Mr. Rodney McCormick
term expires: 03-01-2025
Mayor Appointment Justice


Pastor Dennis Carroll
term expires: 02-15-2024
Human Rights Department


Pastor Dwayne Hurt
term expires: 03-15-2024

Pastor Robert Johnson
term expires: 02-15-2024
Minority Health Partners

Sean Fitzpatrick

Mr. Sean Fitzpatrick
Council Liaison